Company Users

The individuals who are associated with a company are represented in the Customers grid by the customer type, Company User, and are typically buyers with varying levels of permission to access store services and resources.

Company Structure with Teams of Users

Company users are assigned by the company administrator, and are visible from the Admin in the Customers grid. For each user, the company administrator first sets up the company structure, and then completes the following tasks, as needed:

  • Create company users and assign users to teams
  • Define roles and permissions, and assign users to roles

Company users can be added, edited, or removed only by the company administrator. Removal cannot be reversed because the user is removed from the company structure.

Add company users

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.
  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Users.


    Company Users
  3. Clicks Add New User and does the following:
    • Enters the Job Title of the new user.
    • If the roles and permissions are defined, chooses the appropriate User Role. Otherwise, they can return later to assign the role.


      Add new user

Completes the remaining fields as needed for the user:

  • First Name and Last Name
  • Email
  • Phone Number
    By default, the Status of the account is Active.
  • When complete, clicks Save.
  • Repeats the process to create as many company users as needed.

The new users appear in the Company Users list, along with the Company Administrator.

To save time during their first order, the company administrator can remind each company user to add the default company billing and shipping address to their address book.

Edit company users

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.
  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Users.
  3. Finds the user record to be updated, and clicks Edit.
  4. Makes the needed changes.
  5. When complete, clicks Save.

Remove a company user

  1. From the storefront, the company administrator signs in to their account.
  2. In the left panel, chooses Company Structure.
  3. Selects the company user in the company structure.
  4. Clicks Delete Selected.
  5. When prompted to confirm, clicks Delete.

In the Admin, the company user continues to be listed in the customers grid, but with an Inactive status.

Assigning Users to Teams

When teams and users are first added to the company structure, they are placed at the same level under the company administrator.


Company structure with users and teams

Assign users to teams

  1. From the storefront, sign in to your account as the company administrator.
  2. In the left panel, choose Company Structure.
  3. To assign a user to an existing team, simply drag the user under the appropriate team.

Company Roles and Permissions

Roles for company users set up with various levels of permission to access sales information and resources. By default, the company administrator is a super user with full permissions. The Access Denied page appears if the user does not have permission to access the page.

The system has one predefined Default User role, which you can use “as is” or modify to suit your needs. You can create as many roles as necessary to match your company structure.

  • Default User — The default user has full access to activities related to sales and quotes, and view-only access to company profile and credit information.
  • Senior Buyer — A senior buyer might have access to all Sales and Quotes resources, and view-only permissions to the Company Profile, User and Teams, Payment Information, and Company Credit.
  • Assistant Buyer — An assistant buyer might have permission to place an order using Checkout with Quote, and to view orders, quotes, and information in the company profile.

Manage roles and permissions

  • Sign in to your store account as the company administrator.
  • In the left panel, choose Roles and Permissions.
  • Complete any of the following tasks.

Create a role

  1. Click Add New Role

    Add New Role
  2. Enter a descriptive Role Name.
  3. Under Role Permissions, do one of the following:
    • Select the checkbox of each resource or activity that users assigned the role have permission to access.
    • Select the All checkbox. Then, clear the checkbox of each resource or activity that users assigned to the role do not have permission to access.
  4. Click Save Role.
  5. Repeat these steps to create as many roles as necessary.

Modify a role

  1. For the role to be modified, click Edit in the Actions column.
  2. Make the necessary changes to the name and permission settings.
  3. When complete, click Save Role.

Duplicate a role

  1. For the role to be duplicated, click Duplicate in the Actions column.
  2. Make the necessary changes to the name and permission settings.
  3. When complete, click Save Role.

Delete a role

  1. Find the role to be deleted In the list of roles.
    Only roles without assigned users can be deleted.
  2. Click Delete in the Actions column.
  3. When prompted to confirm, click OK.

Role Permissions

  • All
    • Sales
      • Allow Checkout (place order)
        • Use Pay On Account method
      • View Orders
        • View orders of subordinate users
    • Company Profile
      • Account Information (View)
        • Edit
      • Legal Address
        • Edit
      • Contacts (View)
      • Payment Information (View)
      • Shipping Information (View)
    • Company User Management
      • View roles and permissions
        • Manage roles and permissions
      • View users and teams
        • Manage users and teams
Mastercard     Visa     Paypal     Giropay     Carte Bancaire     Ideal     Bancontact    
UPS     DHL     Fedex